Stay and work

Third-country nationals

Third-country nationals are aliens who are not nationals of the Member States of the European Economic Area (the European Union, the Principality of Liechtenstein, the Kingdom of Norway, and the Republic of Iceland) or nationals of the Swiss Confederation.

The Aliens Act (Official Gazette No 133/2020, 114/2022) prescribes the conditions for the entry, movement and stay, and work of third-country nationals.

Stay of third-country nationals

Third-country nationals may stay in the Republic of Croatia:
  • up to 90 days in any 180-day period – short-term stay
  • up to a year – temporary stay
  • indefinitely – permanent stay and long-term residence.

A short-term stay is a stay of third-country nationals defined by Article 6 of the Schengen Borders Code (Regulation (EU) 2016/399 of 9 March 2016).

Do you need a visa?